Anahata Chakra – The Heart Chakra

Anahata Chakra – The Heart Chakra

Anahata (The Heart Chakra)
Written by: Jocelyn K. Bowers

“The heart is the body’s “radio station,” where the divine “program” is received, and where the guru’s blessings and power are intuitively perceived.” ~The Essence of the Bhagavad Gita, Swami Kriyananda.

The Anahata Chakra is the center of seven body chakras. It is referred to in the Bhagavad Gita as the battlefield because of its position between the upper three and lower three chakras. It is here where the intentions from the upper three and the lower three chakras battle for supremacy.

The heart chakra has direct connection to the third eye and the crown chakras. Because of this connection you can always rely on your heart to lead you in the right direction. Many people misconstrue the body’s physical manifestation of feelings in this chakra as being the direction your heart wants to take you. But it is important to know that what your heart tells you and what your feelings tell you are two very different things.

The heart chakra is also closely connected to the lower three chakras, and many of the physical symptoms that can manifest when the lower three chakras get out of balance can also affect the heart physically and throw the heart chakra itself out of balance. The element that is connected to this chakra is Air. With this connection comes the importance of prana in this chakra. When we practice different kinds of breath control, we can slow or speed the heart physically which allows the connection with the heart chakra and the upper chakras to be clear, thus connecting us to our higher consciousness, or our spiritual subtle body.

The color related to this chakra is green; which illustrates the battle between the lower and the upper chakras. Green can sybolize harmony and peace, but may also symbolize greed and envy. People who manifest imbalance in this chakra may present as over-confident and arrogant, or lacking self-confidence and void of all emotion including sympathy for others. Those who are depressed, or subject to anxiety connected to unrealistic fears and hatred, may be experiencing an imbalance in the heart chakra.

Physically, an imbalanced heart chakra may lead to chest pain, heart disease, difficulty breathing, and shoulder problems which may radiate down the arms and cause numbness. Other symptoms of imbalance are dizziness, fatigue, anxiety, lung diseases, or breast cancer. Imbalance can also affect the surrounding organs such as the liver, pancreas, gallbladder, lungs, and even the throat, manifesting as thyroid problems.

A person with a balanced heart chakra is open to the gifts of love and will be able to manifest loving relationships. They are kind, patient, tolerant, compassionate, and sympathetic without judgment. They will be confident in who they are, being balanced with their third-dimensional being and their spiritual being. A person with a balanced heart chakra is able to love themselves fully, and attract the right partner based on love.

In yoga, any poses where the heart is above the head, such as forward folds, will stimulate this chakra. Poses such as Camel and Fish are also helpful. And, back bends stimulate this chakra because they open the heart and chest. A passive heart chakra opener you can do is Cobra. All of these postures require a warm up, especially Camel. And, although back bends are the healers of the spine, if done improperly they can be more destructive than helpful.

If you would like to set up a private session with me, or you would like to have your own personal practice mapped out for you, you can contact me through my Personal Page, or at

Leave a Reply